top of page

Check-Mate

Updated: May 25, 2023



I learned to play Chess when I was about 12 years old.


My brothers and I used to play for fun. Never for competitions or in public. Playing cards and board games was a common practice in our family, like any other.


We didn’t have computers like now-a-days, and no TV.


I was considered an amateur and a beginner but I used to beat my brothers most of the time.


When I was in the army, we were assigned to a settlement on the borders of Jordan. We were a group of 45 soldiers, boys & girls combined.


On one occasion we had a Chess match.


The organizers brought in a famous chess player from a nearby city by the name of James (for the purpose of this story – not his real name).


They set up tables in the commissary and everyone was invited to participate or to watch the games.



Of course I was one of the spectators.


In one game the guy, named Jacob, was losing and I made a comment.


He turned around and asked me “what would be your next move if you were in my situation?”


I replied and James smiled and said to Jacob “you see, you should have listened to her”.


When the game finished, James turned and invited me to play a game.


I refused, because I didn’t want to make a fool of myself. After all, I was an amateur and he was a professional player.


“C’mon, Sarah it is just for fun” said James, and everyone joined in agreement with him.


After much encouragement from everyone around I agreed.


I won with a big Check-Mate a half hour into the game.



James was pissed! No woman had ever beat him before. He requested another match and I refused, with a smile. I just wanted to keep the sweet moment for the rest of my life.


For the next two years he tried to convince me to play and every time I refused.


Later on, I taught my son to play and I still play now online, for fun.


That’s all folks!



Story by Sarah Chavez

A member of Senior Citizen Friendship Group <<JOIN US!



 

We'll let you know when there's a new article for you to enjoy!


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page