top of page

Fiery Scarecrow

Updated: May 25, 2023

A Halloween story



One year for Halloween I brought home my Air Force firefighter turnouts. With the gold shield as a face piece, I was able to see out but no one could see in.


I sat on a bench outside my front door and, wearing this suit, I stretched out with legs crossed and stayed perfectly still like a stuffed scare crow

Kids would slowly approach me and would kick my boot or leg only to have me lay still. Once they passed me, climbing the three steps to the door, I would move. Sometimes just a tiny bit where one in the group would see me and swear I moved.


They would come back and kick me again and I would not move.


Then of course at the perfect time I would move for the scare, and yes I’m sure some went home with wet pants.


One mom was more scared than her daughter. The mom would not come near me even with her little girl coaxing her. The daughter got the candy and mom finally got close enough, so I made my move. The last time I saw the mom she was running up the street screaming, leaving her daughter behind.


Those were the good ole days!


Story by Jim Dykens

A member of Senior Citizen Friendship Group <<JOIN US!


 

We'll let you know when there's a new article for you to enjoy!


12 views1 comment

1 commento


s442311
12 ott 2021

That’s a funny one! :)

Mi piace
bottom of page