top of page

Raymond Pierce's “Graduating from High School!”

Updated: Oct 22, 2021



On June 22 ND 1996 I graduated from High School I was 52. It was one of the Greatest Moments in my Life


At our Graduation Ceremony we were piped into the Grand Hall at The Caboto Club by a Bagpiper. The CBC TV Evening News cameras were there and took a close up of me receiving my Diploma which was featured on the CBC News later that evening. Was I ever proud.

So how did I arrive at this moment receiving my High School Diploma at 52.


As a kid I found school difficult. I didn’t like school and I had to repeat grade two. In one of my elementary grades I was given a special test with one of the teachers. I’m not sure why I was given the test or what the results were.


By the time I reached grade nine I was having an even more difficult time. My Father took me to see a School Counsellor for an interview and after the interview the Counsellor told my Dad I would be fine. I wasn’t.



Academic studies were not my strength


In 1960 at St Peter’s Intermediate School I was failing my year but in June my wonderful grade nine teacher Mr. MaGillicuddy told me he would pass me anyway so I could qualify to register at Saint John Vocational School for grade ten. The man was a Saint in my books. I am very grateful to him for being so considerate.


I registered at Saint John Vocational School and signed up for a two-year Quantity Cookery Course because I thought it would be easy and I still didn’t like school and I wanted to get this part of my life over with as soon as possible.


Not because I had plans for my future but I just could not see beyond tomorrow.


This two-year course meant I would finish school after Grade Eleven without receiving a High School Diploma. But I didn’t care! I became immersed in my grade ten studies and began learning how to cook.



I found my niche. I LOVED IT!


I excelled in my studies and cooking classes. I was at the top of my class. I won Awards for Excellence two years in a row. I was enjoying school for the first time in my life.


By the time I graduated I had decided what to do with my life.


In August 1962 I joined the Redemptorist Community of Priests and Brothers as a Brother. I went on to take a Chef Training Course at George Brown College in Toronto graduating in 1968 and after that I worked as a Chef in my Community for many years.


Over the years I began to feel embarrassed that I never finished High School. But I was afraid to go back to school because I didn’t think I could handle the studies.


Finally In January of 1995 I found the courage to face my fears and I registered at the Adult Learning Center in Windsor, Ontario.


I enjoyed my three semesters in grades 11, 12, and 13 and passed them all with flying colours. I had fun and I learned how to use a computer which has served me well.


Then began my love of writing stories first for my English classes, and now as a Storyteller and, as they say……….. the rest is History!







Raymond Pierce is a Storyteller living in Toronto, Canada

A member of Senior Citizen Friendship Group <<JOIN US!



> Please leave a comment (Bottom of this page)



Share YOUR Stories and Adventures!... GO>

 

We'll let you know when there's a new article for you to enjoy!


97 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page