top of page

Raymond Pierce’s The Evening Times Globe - PART THREE

Updated: May 25, 2023

Little David and the Blizzard of 1960.


(Part 3 of a 4 part series)



Now allow me to tell you about my little brother David and the blizzard of Thursday December 8th, 1960.


The blizzard began in the early afternoon so it was in full force by the time I picked up my newspapers after school. I loaded the heavy newspaper bag onto my toboggan. With the wind blowing in my face I started down the three long blocks to the first home on my route.


The snow was drifting, making walking very difficult and I soon realized that I was going to need help or I would be taking a long time delivering papers that night. My little brother David, 9 years old, came to mind.



So I headed for home and managed to convince David to come with me to help. I must have promised him a treat or some money. Whatever I offered, he agreed to come. Bless his little heart, I was feeling so grateful.


The wind kept blowing the snow around and the drifting snow made the job that much more difficult. Some snow drifts were up to our knees. It was a long time before we arrived at the last twelve customers’ homes on Pokiok Road.


I gave David four newspapers and told him which homes to go to on the left side of the street. I would take the other eight papers to the homes on the right.



“David,” I said, “wait for me here by the toboggan when you’re finished or,” pointing to the house we were standing in front of, “wait for me in the vestibule of this house and stay out of the wind.”


David nodded and we headed off into the storm. I got back to the toboggan first. I waited, expecting David to arrive any minute. I checked the vestibule of the house where we left the toboggan, no David. It was hard to see anything at a distance in this storm so I waited and waited, but David didn’t come.



I started to worry. He should have been back by now. Where could he be? The wind was biting my face. I put my head down, my hands in my pockets and stomped my feet to stay warm.


Maybe David was stuck in a big snow drift trying to reach a house.


I waited longer, not sure what to do. Should I go check at each house? What if we missed each other on the way?


Finally, I saw a small shadowy figure coming my way. It was David. I was relieved but I shouted, “Where have you been all this time? I’ve been worried sick about you!”


“Oh,” he said with a smile, “The lady in the last house invited me in and I sat by the stove for a while and warmed up, and she gave me milk and homemade cookies and told me I could eat all I wanted!”



That made me mad. I said, “What about me out here freezing to death and starving, waiting for you? Didn’t you tell the lady about me?”


He shook his head. “Nope!” he said.


I didn’t know if I should be angry or relieved, but as we headed home I remember looking forward to our warm kitchen and the hot supper my mother would have waiting.


To be continued…








Raymond Pierce is a Storyteller living in Toronto, Canada

A member of Senior Citizen Friendship Group <<JOIN US!



 

We'll let you know when there's a new article for you to enjoy!


22 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page